New ‘Farmer Johns’ franchise lands in Buffalo


Buffalo, N.Y. — The new Farmer Johns franchise, which debuted Friday night, will debut in Buffalo, New York, the NHL announced.

The team will have an official home and training facility in the city, according to a release from the Buffalo Sabres.

A total of 25 teams will compete in the inaugural season, which will run from the first of May to the end of June.

Buffalo Sabres president Russ Brandon said in a statement that the franchise will be a unique model that will help to bridge the gap between the local community and professional hockey in the state.

This will be the first professional hockey franchise in the nation to be located in Buffalo.

The Sabres will be joined by a number of professional and collegiate hockey teams in the region, including the University of Buffalo, Niagara College, the University at Buffalo and the Niagara Falls IceDogs.

In addition to the Buffalo-based team, there will be three AHL teams in Buffalo that will join the NHL in 2019-20: the Syracuse Crunch, the Rochester Americans and the Rochester American Hockey League’s Rochester Americans.

The AHL has a history of building teams in urban markets that benefit the hockey community.